Inspiration Overload

I have too many ideas.  Bad ideas, mostly.  Or at least, unworkable ideas.  I was fooling around with icord and came up with the idea of knitting a rug. When I realized that US15s weren’t even close to big enough to get a workable fabric, did I forget about it?  Hell no!  I sat in the bathtub last night dreaming up hardware store solutions to a need for 15mm, looooong cord circular needles.  Because the first thing every pattern-buyer wants to see is instructions on how to build the needles you need to knit the project.

At the other end of the spectrum I did some beginning charting for a pair of custom-fit, all-over Fair Isle child’s leggings.  To my credit, I realized before I got too far that there probably isn’t a big market for something that uses $50 worth of sock yarn, takes 40+ hours to knit, and will be outgrown in a season.  Less to my credit, I did briefly consider reworking it as an adult pattern (hey, it won’t be outgrown so quickly!).

What happened to the robot, you ask?  Good question.  I think what happened is that I was swatching her with this crappy sport weight yarn that made me feel like I was taking forever to get nowhere.  Unfortunately, most of my yarn is buried at the the bottom of the Hoarders-style storage room I mentioned earlier.  So I’m going to bite the bullet and buy some half-decent, worsted-weight yarn and start over.  Sigh.

In the meantime, I have around a dozen other burning ideas, a knee sock for myself on the needles, and about 7 minutes a day for knitting.

This entry was posted in Blah Blah, Gauge Swatch Robot, Process. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

